Forgiveness — Stalingrad

▶ Switch to German Page

A documentary film by Peter and Susanne Scheiner
(work-in-progress; duration 52 minutes)


Synopsis

Wolgograd, formerly known as Stalingrad, 70 years after the devastating battle. A Christian group from Germany joins the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II with the purpose to ask for forgiveness for the harm caused by their German fathers and grandfathers. My wife and I, two filmmakers from a Jewish background and second generation Holocaust survivors, accompany the Christian group. Forgiveness is a personal reflexion on this journey.

Why this film?

With foreign minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier only paying a brief visit the night before the official ceremony, the German government rarely contributed to the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II.
The group of Christians, however, who have been forming the idea of forgiveness for about 20 years and who attended the official ceremony, were invisible in the German public eye. Instead, the Russian public TV, in spite of an embargo and the German guilt in killing 20 millions people, broadcasted a television program about the Christians.
As a filmmaker, I am particularly fascinated by my protagonist Michael Prinz zu Salm-Salm, the face of the Christian group, with his very personal and emotional way to forgiveness. His honest and humble attempt to seek forgiveness is often contrasted by rather rejective and unemotional reactions of the Russians.

Aspects

  1. The Wolgograd parade did not proclaim peace but victory, thus confronting us with Russia's demonstrative military power.
  2. Hundreds of thousands gathered in Wolgograd (1. - 4. generation war survivors) to commemorate their relatives killed during combat. Unlike during the Soviet era, they are not forced to attend, but join the parade as volunteers.
  3. EU embargo original sound: "We have won Stalingrad in 1943, we will also survive the embargo."
  4. Forgiveness? Fair enough, but we have well educated people and a functioning infrastructure, why don`t we just do business?

The film is an attempt to represent both sides of the spectrum and to contribute to a differentiated debate in the German-Russian conflict.

Additional shoot

Die Vergebung — Stalingrad

 

Ein Dokumentarfilm in Arbeit von Peter und Susanne Scheiner
Länge: 30 Minuten / 52 Minuten

Inhalt

Wolgograd bzw. das seinerzeitige Stalingrad 70 Jahre nach Kriegsende. Eine Gruppe deutscher Christen nimmt an den Feierlichkeiten "70 Jahre Kriegsende" in Wolgograd teil und bittet in Namen der Vorfahren um Vergebung. Ich und meine Frau, zwei jüdische Filmemacher aus Zürich (Nachkommen von Holocaustüberlebenden) begleiten die Gruppe. Der Film "Die Vergebung" wird eine sehr persönliche Reflexion dieser Reise.

Warum dieser Film

Die deutsche Öffentlichkeit hat die offizielle Reflexion Deutschlands anlässlich der Feierlichkeiten zum 70jährigen Jahrestag des Kriegsendes nur durch eine kurze Visite von Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Bundesminister des Auswärtigen, am Vorabend wahrgenommen.
Es ist wenig bekannt, dass eine Gruppe deutscher Christen seit 20 Jahren am Thema Versöhnung arbeitet und an den Feierlichkeiten teilnahm. Dem russischen Fernsehen war dies trotz Embargo und trotz deutscher Schuld am Tod von 20 Millionen, einen ausführlichen Beitrag wert.
Mich als Filmemacher, hat der sehr persönliche, emotionale Umgang mit dem Thema Versöhnung/Vergebung von Michael Prinz zu Salm-Salm gepackt. Prinz Salm steht für mich stellvertretend für die Gruppe. Dabei kontrastierte seine ehrliche, aufrichtige Bemühung um Vergebung teilweise stark mit der sehr sachlichen Reaktion der Russen in Wolgograd und Volsky.

Aspekte

  1. Wir hören im Film nicht unbedingt Frieden, wir hören Sieg, wir sind konfrontiert mit der militärischen Stärke Russlands (anlässlich der Parade).
  2. Hunderttausend von Einwohnern Wolgograds, (1., 2., 3. und 4. Generation) gedenken ihrer umgebrachten Familienangehörigen. Sie versammeln sich freiwillig an Plätzen des Gedenkens (sie werden nicht wie in kommunistischen Zeiten gezwungen, sich zu versammeln).
  3. EU Embargo Originalton: "Wir haben 1943 in Stalingrad gesiegt, wir werden auch das Embargo überleben".
  4. Vergebung? Schön und gut, aber was uns interessiert: Wir haben gut ausgebildete Leute, eine gute Infrastruktur - lasst uns Geschäft machen.

Der Film ist ein Versuch, diese Stimmungen beider Seiten einzufangen und einen Beitrag zu einer differenzierten Information der Öffentlichkeit zu leisten.

Noch zu drehen